Updated: Jul 26, 2021
Eviction Moratorium Updates
The Oregon Eviction Moratorium ended on June 30th, meaning all renters must have paid their July rent forward on time to avoid being evicted.
If you were unable to pay July rent, you MUST apply for rental assistance AND provide proof of application to your landlord (called "Documentation of Rent Assistance"). If you do both of these things, you qualify for the CDC's extended eviction moratorium and you cannot be evicted for 60 days from the date the letter is provided to the landlord.
Documentation of Rent Assistance given to a landlord can only be provided once (per landlord - meaning they may provide it to another landlord if they move) for the 60 day protection.
Even if you've been denied rent assistance from one organization you can still apply to other organizations and utilize the Documentation of Rent Assistance for the 60 day protection.
You can supply the Documentation of Rent Assistance to your landlord even after an eviction notice is served and up until the court appearance and gain the 60 day protection.
After the 60 days are up a landlord can serve an eviction notice if rent has not been paid.
Starting July 1st, landlords can issue 30-day no-cause notices.
The grace period for back-owed rent from April 1, 2020-June 30, 2021 is still in effect, and landlords cannot issue termination notices for this time period due to Oregon Senate Bill 282. All back-owed rent must be paid by March 1, 2022.
Rental Assistance Updates
If you are a renter with back-owed rent from April 1, 2020-June 30, 2021 immediately apply to Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program (OERAP) for help with back-owed rent.
Our (Thrive) rental, mortgage and utility assistance is currently on hold, with a 2-3 week delay for funding after all documents have been provided.
If you've been served an eviction notice please reach out to Legal Aid Services of Oregon (541) 385-6950) and/or see the Oregon Law Help website.